gautama buddhaSome of the profound teachings of Gautama Buddha were-
1.Four Noble Truths
2.Interdependent Origination
3.Three Universal Characteristics
4.Five Aggregates of Experience

I’ll be writing about three universal characteristics in this post.Before proceeding,you must note that Just as the Ocean,although vast,is of One taste-the taste of salt;similarly the teachings of Buddha,although vast,is of One taste-the taste of NIRVANA.

Let us begin with the word Characteristic.What do we mean by characteristic?Anything that is always associated with a particular thing is said to be its Characteristic.For eg.Heat is characteristic of Fire.Boiled water may also be hot,but heat is not always associated with water as it depends on other external factors.So,heat cannot be a characteristic of water.
Now,the importance of characteristic is that since it is always connected with the thing,it can tell us about the nature of  the thing.

According to Buddha,the three characteristics of existence are-Impermanence,Suffering & Not-Self.These are always present with existence & they can tell us about what to do with existence.Once we understand these three characteristics,we eliminate our attachment to existence by removing the delusion/misunderstanding that existence is permanent,pleasant & has something to do with the Self.

1.Impermanence-If you look around yourself,everything you see,hear,touch & smell is impermanent.In fact,even your mental state is not permanent.Sometimes you are happy & sometime you’re sad.Every physical thing,ie. your body,buildings,birds,animals,mountains,cities,oceans,Earth,Solar system,the whole Universe itself is going to decline & cease to exist.
The increasing entropy of Universe shall bring everything to vibrations which would also ultimately fade out.The understanding of Impermanence is an antidote to attachment & ill-will.It is a key to understanding the ultimate nature of things,the way things really are.

2.Suffering-If there’s life,there is suffering.Be it life of a insect,bird,fish,animal or human.There are mainly two kinds of suffering-physical or mental.Physical suffering includes the suffering of birth,sickness,old age & death.No life on Earth can escape these physical sufferings.
Then there are mental sufferings which include sufferings of separation from what is dear to us,suffering of contact from what we despise & sufferings of frustrated desires.

I would like to explain the third characteristics in a bit detail.So I’ll be writing it in the next post “EGO”.I have put the link of a great influencing spiritual book ‘Tree of Enlightenment‘ magnificently written by Peter Della Santina in the menu section Books to Read.If you’re looking for a ‘Missing Link’ at this point of your life,just go to that link & download it.Believe me,it’s one of the best decision you can ever make now in this gradually unfolding journey called  LIFE.


About RandyGoatboy

Hi friends,I'm 22. A Mechanical Engineer(ooops!) who Loves playing Guitar,traveling & wild adventures,listening to Rock (let's keep it alive guys). More importantly, I've found out some truths about this crazy thing called LIFE but I often don't find the right people around me with whom I can share these truths.You may be the One I'm looking for. After all,an Enlightened Being would always want to share LOVE with humans from every corner of Earth.
This entry was posted in buddhism, nirvana, Spirituality and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let your THOUGHTS reach me....

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s